EROC 2015 Recap

20150129_1548_EROC_2015_D8_0047

This year’s EROC was four whole days of the development of our beloved roller derby, with an emphasis on the sport in Europe. 64 leagues from 18 countries came together to discuss the the future of European derby and its organization.

Instead of focusing on bringing each country’s leagues together, this year’s aim was to bring European derby together as a whole. One decisive result from the conference was the widespread agreement of moving in the direction of a European umbrella organization. This type of organization would be able to lay the groundwork for roller derby all over Europe, as well as further strengthening the ability for intercontinental play.

20150131_1011_EROC_2015_Day_03_Sessions_D8_0122

20150130_1338_EROC_2015_Day_02_Workshops_D8_0235

Thursday and Friday featured workshops at the conference. During these six workshops, which were three focused hours each, session leaders like Endless Justin and the dudes from DSA shared their expertise with attendees. Highlights included the meet and greet at Facciola on Thursday and the Roll*Line equiment workshop at QUAD, along with the opening party in Edelweiß on Friday night.

20150129_2114_EROC_2015_Facciola_D8_0078

20150130_1921_EROC_2015_Day_02_Quad_Shop_D8_0534

20150130_2341_EROC_2015_Day_02_Edelweiss_Party_D8_0055

As in previous years, Saturday and Sunday were full of hour-long sessions with speakers like WFTDA representatives Alassin Sane, Bloody Mary, and Pantichrist; as well as derby greats like Cherry Fury, Iron Monger, and Bob Noxious. A total of 49 sessions filled these two days. EROC 2015’s high point was the Saturday night bout between the Legends and the Veterans, followed by a scrimmage on Sunday in which attendees could sign up and join to also get on the track.

20150131_1909_EROC_2015_Day_03_Sessions_D8_1321

20150131_2244_EROC_2015_Day_03_Bout_Vet_vs_Leg_D8_0759

We want to thank Peter and Karin from the SC Lurich 02 e.V., our sponsors QUAD Shop, Faster Skates, Roll*Line, Cooper’s Cider, and Starcar rentals, along with our amazing photographer, Michael Wittig.

EROC 2015 Nachbericht

20150129_1548_EROC_2015_D8_0047

Vier ganze Tage lang ging es wieder einmal um die Entwicklung von Roller Derby, ganz besonders in Europa. Aus insgesamt 18 Ländern trafen sich etwa 64 Ligen, um über die Zukunft und Organisation des Europäischen Roller Derbys zu diskutieren.

Stand in der Vergangenheit besonders der Austausch zwischen den einzelnen Ligen einer Nation im Vordergrund, war es diesmal die Organisation des Europäischen Derbys. Ein entscheidendes Ergebnis der Konferenz ist die Abstimmung für einen Europäischen Dachverband. Mit diesem Dachverband soll die Grundlage geschaffen werden, um den Derby-Sport in Europa und vor allem auch in Hinblick auf den interkontinentalen Spielbetrieb weiter zu stärken.

20150131_1011_EROC_2015_Day_03_Sessions_D8_0122

20150130_1338_EROC_2015_Day_02_Workshops_D8_0235

Den Auftakt der diesjährigen Konferenz bildeten die Workshops am Donnerstag und Freitag. In den sechs Workshops à jeweils drei intensiven Stunden haben unsere Session Leader wie Endless Justin oder die Jungs von DSA ihr Wissen an die Teilnehmer weitergeben. Höhepunkte beider Tage waren das Meet and Greet im Facciolas am Donnerstag und der RollLine-Equipment-Workshop bei Quad sowie die anschließende Auftaktparty im Edelweiß am Freitag.

20150129_2114_EROC_2015_Facciola_D8_0078

20150130_1921_EROC_2015_Day_02_Quad_Shop_D8_0534

20150130_2341_EROC_2015_Day_02_Edelweiss_Party_D8_0055

Wie in den vergangenen Jahren waren der Samstag und Sonntag für unsere einstündigen Sessions reserviert. Zu den Referenten zählten unter anderem die WFTDA-Repräsentanten Alassin Sane, Bloody Mary und Pantichrist oder Derby-Größen wie Cherry Fury, Iron Monger und Bob Noxious. Insgesamt 49 Sessions konnten an den beiden Tagen besucht werden. Zu den absoluten Highlights der diesjährigen EROC-Veranstaltung gehörte das Spiel am Samstag, bei dem Team Legend gegen Team Veterans antraten, gefolgt vom obligatorischen Scrimmage am Sonntag, bei dem alle spielwütigen EROC-Besucher teilnehmen konnten.

20150131_1909_EROC_2015_Day_03_Sessions_D8_1321

20150131_2244_EROC_2015_Day_03_Bout_Vet_vs_Leg_D8_0759

Wir bedanken uns recht herzlich bei Peter und Karin vom SC Lurich 02 e.V., bei unseren Sponsoren Quad, Faster, Roll Line, Cooper’s Cider und Starcar Autovermietung und unserem tollen Fotografen Michael Wittig.