Report about us

All information around and about the Berlin Bombshells and Roller Derby can be found on our info flyer.
If you would like to organize an interview or a visit to a game the contact person is Janina Meyer. Just write a short E-mail to: presse@bearcityrollerderby.com

What is Roller Derby?


A team sport on skates played in counter-clockwise direction on an oval track.

The rules – short and sweet

Two teams compete. Five from 14 players on each team are on track. One of the players is in charge of scoring the points – she has to pass the opponents as often as possible during 2 minutes. For each passed opponent she gains one point. The other players glide slowly or at a middle pace and try to prevent the opposing jammer from scoring or help out their own. Legal contact is limited to hips, shoulders and the front of the body. Some illegal moves are: holding, pushing with the elbow, tripping, backblocks.

Each team can change out their 5 players after the conclusion of the 2 minutes. The game consists of two 30 minute periods.

Women‘s Flat Track Derby Association, a voluntary association of teams from all over the world, regulates the sport.

The philosophy

Since about 2000 Roller Derby has developed as a female dominated amateur sport. The teams place great value on administrating themselves. That means each player has to fulfil committee work aside from regular training.

The teams form a tight community and the sport is developing as something “from skater for skaters”.

Our story

In May of 2008 the Berlin Bombshells were founded by a handful of players. Kreuzberg S.C. Lurich 02 e.V., with its tradition filled past, became our sports club.

Carrying the idea of establishing an innovative, fascinating sport for women, the founders succeeded in recruiting new players and after little less than a year of training, they organized the fist Roller Derby game in Germany against Stuttgart.

For over five years we have been chasing following goals:

  • Making Roller Derby well known and successful in Germany
  • Playing as a team on the highest European ranking
  • Offering the Berlin league members a varying sport on all levels.

Our opponents are teams from Germany, Europe and the USA. Some of them include: London, Paris, Edinburgh, Stockholm, Washington, Philadelphia and many more. Part of our biggest successes are the organization of the fifth edition European Roller Derby Conference and the very first European WFTDA-Tournament. In 2013 our Berlin Bombshells A-Team became German champions and won the biggest European tournament of the year in Gent.

Berichten Sie über uns

Informationen rund um die Berlin Bombshells und Roller Derby gibt es in unserem Info-Flyer.

Für einen Interviewtermin oder einen Besuch beim Training oder Spiel ist Janina Meyer die beste Ansprechpartnerin. Schicken Sie einfach eine kurze E-mail an: presse@bearcityrollerderby.com


Was ist Roller Derby?

Ein Teamsport auf Rollschuhen, ausgetragen auf einer ovalen Bahn gegen den Uhrzeigersinn.

Die Regeln – kurz und knapp
Es treten 2 Teams gegeneinander an. Von je 14 Mitglieder, sind 5 auf der Bahn. Davon ist eine Spielerin die Punktemacherin – sie muss innerhalb von 2 Minuten die Gegnerinnen so oft wie möglich überrunden. Für jede überholte Gegnerin erhält sie einen Punkt. Die restlichen Spielerinnen rollen langsam bis mittelschnell und versuchen die gegnerische Punktemacherin aufzuhalten oder ihrer eigenen zu helfen. Legaler Körperkontakt begrenzt sich auf die Hüften, Schultern und den Vorderkörper. Zu illegalen Manövern gehören: Festhalten, Ellbogenschübe, Bein stellen, in den Rücken fahren.

Nach Ablauf der 2 Minuten kann das Team seine fünf Spielerinnen auswechseln. Das Spiel dauert 2 x 30 Minuten.

Geregelt wird der Sport durch die Women‘s Flat Track Derby Association, einen freiwilligen Zusammenschluss von Teams aus der ganzen Welt.

 

Die Philosophie

Seit den 2000ern entwickelt sich Roller Derby als ein von Frauen dominierter Amateursport. Die Teams legen viel Wert darauf, sich selbst zu verwalten. Somit kommt auf alle Spielerinnen neben dem regulären Training ebensoviel Komiteearbeit zu.

Die Teams bilden eine enge Gemeinschaft und der Sport entwickelt sich ganz im Sinne von “von Skatern für Skater”.

Unsere Geschichte

Im Mai 2008 wurden die Berlin Bombshells von einer Hand voll Mitgliedern gegründet. Zu unserem Mutterverein wurde der traditionsreiche, Kreuzberger S.C. Lurich 02 e.V..

Getragen von der Idee einen neuartigen, faszinierenden Sport für Frauen zu etablieren, gelang es den Gründerinnen schnell, neue Spielerinnen zu gewinnen und nach einem knappen Jahr Training das erste Roller Derby Spiel in Deutschland – gegen Stuttgart, zu organisieren.

Seit nun über 5 Jahren verfolgen wir folgende Ziele:

  • Roller Derby in Deutschland bekannt und erfolgreich zu machen
  • Als Team auf dem europäischen Topniveau zu spielen
  • Mitgliedern der Berliner Liga einen abwechslungsreichen Sport auf allen Leveln anzubieten

Zu unsere Gegnerinnen gehören Teams aus Deutschland, Europa und den USA, u.a.: London, Paris, Edinburgh, Stockholm, Washington, Philadelphia uvm. Zu unseren größten Erfolgen gehören die Organisation der fünf Editionen der europäischen Roller Derby Konferenz, der ersten deutschen Roller Derby Meisterschaften und des ersten europäischen WFTDA-Turnier. Im Jahr 2013 wurden die Berlin Bombshells, unser A-Team, Deutsche Meister und gewannen das größte europäische Turnier des Jahres in Gent.