The Heat Is On – Florida Diary

On April 28th a majority of our A-team boarded the flight to Ft. Lauderdale, to take part in the Beach Brawl tournament hosted by Gold Coast Derby girls. This tournament offered the opportunity to play against higher ranked american teams and a big possibility for us to climb rankings – with a chance to qualify for the WFTDA Division 2-playoffs.

Tampa4 After a brief 2-day-acclimatizing period, filled with sunny excursions in Fort Lauderdale and pool parties in our own house pool, we hit the road for the tours first pitch stop: Tampa and the girls of Tampa Roller Derby. The game against Tampa, a WFTDA sanctioned bout against a D1-team, definitively proved to be one of the toughest games this week. After a long travel from Fort Lauderdale to Tampa, we found ourselves changing into our team jerseys in what could have been the tiniest locker room in history. Warm-up then took place during an ongoing Junior Derby tournament. As the game started, it soon became evident that the force of the Tampa Girls was hard to stop. Perhaps were also the foreign heat and the long days travel our enemies on the track. The game ended with the scores standing at 294 – 94, assuring Tampa Roller Derby the win. Despite the big score differential and a slightly defeated Berliner spirit, the rest of the evening was enjoyable, while we were hanging out and chatting with the Tampa girls over a lush snack stand. Then it was time to travel all the way back that same night. Once again, a huge thanks to the mates that willingly took on the task to drive home our sleepy squad back safely.

On the 2nd of May the day had arrived! The first game of the long awaited Beach brawl tournament was to be played. 24 teams, from 6 different countries and 3 different continents took part in this event. In the first game, we had to fight against the DC Rollergirls. Just as team warm up was over, we realized that this would be no walk in the park. Almost every one of us struggled with the unaccustomed grip of the sports court floor, on which plow stops at first seemed impossible. The first period of the match was even though, and we went into our well-deserved half-time break with a one point lead. The second half started with the scores standing at 49 – 48, but we were unfortunately not able to build up any further lead. The DC rollergirls managed to rack up some points to their advantage, overtook the lead and then finally took home a 151 to 117 win.

bbs_suburbia_2
The following day, we were matched up with Suburbia Roller Derby. In contrast to the previous day, we now managed to find each other and our game on the track. Frequent trips to the penalty box for our jammers made it possible, though, for Suburbia the even out the scores. The game turned into a real, real nail biter as the period clock moved closer to zero. After the final jam the unofficial score showed 200 – 199 in Berlins favor. After a long official review, the numbers were turned around, however, as some of the final points had not been scored legally. The official scores from this game: 197 – 199 to Suburbia.

10298242_687497647984342_3968316241330045249_o
In the final game of the tournament we had the local heroines Gold Coast Derby Grrls as our opponents. The passed days had shown, that we could step up our performance for every game played. So, with two days of exhausting tournament play in our bodies, and the tough game against Tampa well in memory, our motivation and form was on top the third day. The match against Gold Coast Derby girls had a nerve-wrecking dramaturgy to it, and the excitement got just as high for the audience as for the skaters. Both teams had to fight hard for every single point, and definitively proved worthy every single point scored. With a margin of six points, we finally managed to seal the deal and ended the game with a 174 – 168 win.

USA_team_international
The victory over Gold Coast was not the final cherry on top this day however! After a short break Paulina Pocket, Bee Fattal, Heavy Rotation, Master Blaster and Catherine Beat-Her Bones got to lace up their skates once more, to represent Team International together with the best skaters from other non-american teams of the tournament. Team International took on the infamous Team USA. The power relation in this game was clear and decisive, as was the final score: 435 – 31 to Team USA. Team Internationals skaters fought hard the whole time though and gave their all on the track, to the sound of a highly supportive fan crowd.
During the MVP-award ceremony of the tournament, the third treat of this day was served, as our own Master Blaster received the MVP-jammer award. Very well deserved!

Next day, we headed off to Palm Beach to practice and scrimmage with Dub City Derby Girls.
After this exciting and quite successful Derby week it was now time to get to know the country and its people. Trips to the beach, to Miami, or driving with an Airboat was on the agenda; together with photos of alligators, maybe one or two sunburns, the largest Margaritas, the loudest Mexican restaurant, the wildest pool battles and and and … after a really eventful and accomplished week the suitcases had to packed again, sadly enough.

The Berlin Bombshells thank all those who so strongly supported us and made this trip possible. goldcoast
Photos by Duane Baker, Ken LeBleu of lebleuphoto.com, Craig Richmonds and Christopher W. Weeks.

The Heat Is On – Florida Tagebuch

Der Großteil unseres A-Teams machte sich am 28. April auf den Weg nach Fort Lauderdale, wo vom 2. bis 4. Mai das Beach Brawl Turnier stattfinden sollte. Das Tournament bot die Gelegenheit gegen Teams aus den Staaten zu spielen und uns für die Division 2-Playoffs zu qualifizieren.

Tampa4 Nach einer Akklimatisierungszeit von zwei Tagen, sonnigen Ausflug in Fort Lauderdale sowie der ein oder anderen Plantsch-Partie im hauseigenen Pool, ging es zu unserer ersten Station dieser Reise: nach Tampa zu den Girls vom Tampa Roller Derby. Das Spiel gegen Tampa, ein sanctioned Bout gegen ein D1-Team, gehörte zu einem unserer härtesten Spiele auf dieser Reise. Nach einer langen Fahrt von Fort Lauderdale nach Tampa ging es nach dem Umziehen in der wahrscheinlich kleinsten Umkleidekabine der Welt und während eines Junior-Derby Turniers zum Aufwärmen. Als das Spiel begonnen hatte, war schnell klar, dass wir gegen die Power der Tampa-Girls an diesem Tag wenig ausrichten konnten. Vielleicht auch ein wenig der ungewohnt hohen Temperatur und einer langen langen Anreise geschuldet. Das Spiel endete mit einem Punktestand von 294 zu 94 für die Tampa-Girls. Trotz der großen Punktedifferenz und dem ein oder anderen geknickten Berliner Gemüt, wurde noch ausgiebig am üppigen Snackstand mit den Tampa-Girls geplauscht. Am gleichen Abend ging es dann wieder zurück. Hier nochmal ein dickes Dankschön an diejenigen, die sich geopfert haben, um uns mit Zahnstochern in den müden Augen wohlbehalten nach Haus zu fahren.

Am 2. Mai war es dann soweit: Das erste Spiel des langersehnten Beach Brawl Tournaments. An dem Turnier nahmen 24 Ligen aus sechs verschiedenen Ländern und drei Kontinenten teil. Das erste Spiel hatten wir gegen die DC Rollergirls zu bestreiten. Schon beim Aufwärmen war klar, dass dies kein leichtes Unterfangen werden wird. Fast alle von uns hatten mit dem ungewohnten Boden zu kämpfen, der ein Plowen anfänglich unmöglich machte. Die erste Hälfte des Spiels war relativ ausgeglichen und so konnten wir mit einem Punkt Vorsprung in die wohlverdiente Halbzeitpause gehen. Die zweite Halbzeit startete mit 49 zu 48, doch leider war es uns nicht möglich den Vorsprung auszubauen. Die DC Rollergirls konnten ihrerseits einige Punkte sammeln und gingen in Führung. Das Spiel endete mit einem 151 zu 117 für die DC Rollergirls.

bbs_suburbia_2
Am folgenden Tag trafen wir auf die Damen von Suburbia Roller Derby. Im Gegensatz zum Vortag haben wir besser ins Spiel gefunden. Doch leider haben die Strafbank-Besuche der Berliner Jammerinnen es Suburbia immer wieder ermöglicht, den Punktestand auszugleichen. Zum Ende wurde es so noch einmal richtig spannend. Nach dem letzten Jam und einem inoffiziellen Punktestand von 200 zu 199 für die Berlin Bombshells, wurde nach einer Schiedsrichter-Entscheidung der Endstand nach langem Zittern zu Gunsten von Suburbia geändert. Offiziell endete das Spiel 199 zu 197 für Suburbia Roller Derby.

10298242_687497647984342_3968316241330045249_o
Im letzten Spiel waren unsere Gegner die Lokalmatadorinnen, die Gold Coast Derby Grrls. Die vergangenen Tage haben gezeigt: Mit jedem gespielten Bout konnten wir unsere Leistung verbessern. Nach insgesamt zwei anstrengenden Turnier-Tagen und dem Spiel gegen Tampa waren wir am dritten Tag in Bestform und hoch motiviert. Das Spiel gegen die Gold Coast Damen war die gesamte Länge über für Zuschauer wie auch für Spielerinnen nervenaufreibend spannend. Beide Teams haben jeden einzelnen Punkt hart erkämpft und jeden einzelnen hart verteidigt. Mit einem knappen Unterschied von sechs Punkten konnten wir das Spiel für uns entscheiden: Mit 174 zu 168 für die Berlin Bombshells.

USA_team_international
Der Sieg gegen die Gold Coast Derby Grrls sollte jedoch nicht das letzte Sahnestück an diesem Tag sein. Nach einer kurzen Pause zog es unsere Paulina Pocket, Bee Fattal, Heavy Rotation, Master Blaster und Catherine BeatHer Bones wieder in die Skates und auf den Track. Mit den Besten der anderen Teams aus Europa und Südamerika spielten die fünf im Team International gegen Team USA. Das Kräfteverhältnis im Spiel war zwar eindeutig, genau wie der Endpunktstand von 435 zu 31 zu Gunsten Team USA. Aber dennoch hat Team International unter den begeisterten Fan-Zurufen hart gekämpft und alles gegeben. Sahnestück Nummer drei: Der MVP Award für die beste Jammerin des gesamten Tournaments ging wohlverdient an unsere Master Blaster.

Am folgenden Tag ging es dann nach Palm Beach. Hier nutzten wir die Chance, um mit den Dub City Derby Girls zu trainieren und zu scrimmagen. Nach dieser aufregenden und durchaus erfolgreichen Derby-Woche war es nun an der Zeit Land und Leute kennenzulernen. Ausflüge zum Strand, nach Miami oder die Fahrt mit einem Airboot standen dabei auf der Tagesordnung – Fotos von Alligatoren verstehen sich von selbst. Nach dem einen oder anderen Sonnenbrand, den größten Margarita-Schalen, dem lautesten mexikanischen Restaurant, den wildesten Pool-Schlachten und und und… mussten nach einer wirklich erlebnisreichen und sportlich erfolgreichen Zeit leider die Koffer gepackt werden.

Die Berlin Bombshells danken all denen, die uns so tatkräftig unterstützt und diese Reise erst möglich gemacht haben.goldcoast
Fotos von Duane Baker, Ken LeBleu lebleuphoto.com, Craig Richmonds und Christopher W. Weeks.